Book Review: One in a Million

Has something that you needed but did not ask for drop into your lap unexpectedly? This happened to me with Priscilla Shirer’s new book, One in a Million: Journey to Your Promised Land. It is without a doubt one of those books that touches your inner fibers so profoundly that you will consider it a landmark in your spiritual journey. The kind that gives you goose bumps when you are reading it because you think it was written especially for you.

Shirer uses the biblical narrative of Exodus 1 to teach us that abundant life can be achieved in our daily living. Experiencing God’s power in our lives every day and not just on Sundays is the crux of this book. The author invites us on a spiritual journey paralleling the Israelites own physical journey out of Egypt, through the wilderness and stationed at the threshold of the Promised Land. That is where the decision is made to become that one-in-a-million who enters the land.

The Promised Land is the place where we experience the fullness of what God has to offer us no matter what the cost to getting there is. It is an invitation to step into our inheritance and live the destiny God has ordained for us. It is also a call that requires courage and patience, as we leave our past behind and wait in the wilderness while trusting in God’s sustenance. It will require determination to enter into a life of power, joy and peace.

Shirer’s writing style is conversational yet clever and full of spiritual gems. The book is a perfect balance of expository teaching and personal anecdotes that bring bible truths to life. It is a must-read if what you truly desire and seek is to be one of the few who will not settle for less than a deeper and more intimate relationship with God.

BOOK GIVEAWAY CONTEST: If you leave a comment on this post, you will be entered to win a copy of Priscilla Shirer’s new book, One in a Million: Journey to Your Promised Land. This contest will end on September 10, 2010 at 12:00am.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Phenix & Phenix Literary Publicists. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

8 comments

  1. Ibelisse, this really sounds like a life changing book! The story of the Israelites currently has great significance to me in that I accepted Christ at the age of nine and now after my own 40yr trek through the desert as I approach my 50th birthday I’m looking for God to really do great things through me!

    I think I’m finally ready to let go and let God!

  2. This sounds like just the book I need!! I have gone through one of her Bible studies before and love the way she pulls up nuggets of wisdom. Thanks for letting me know about this book. Everyone should definitely get a copy of this gem.

  3. This almost sounds like a wonderful how to of how to have faith which is what so many, myself included, need. Great suggested reading! Enter me in your drawing please, Ibelisse.

Leave a Reply

