Body Scrub Recipe + Organic Coconut Oil Giveaway

Mudd Body ScrubYou’ve been hearing a lot about coconut lately, haven’t you? Coconut in its varied forms (water, oil, cream, milk, meat) is quite versatile. It’s used for cooking, baking, and in homemade beauty products (hair care, soaps, lip balms, lotions), to name just a few. I’ll have to devote another post to listing the seemingly endless uses I’ve been reading about!

I recently made a homemade body scrub using Tropical Traditions Gold Label Organic Virgin Coconut Oil. I used a simple recipe anyone can make in less than 15 minutes. As a reminder, this is a body scrub. The coffee ground and the brown sugar may make it too harsh for the face. I will post a refreshing facial scrub recipe soon!

Specifically tailored for coffee aroma lovers, this recipe calls for coffee or a coffee alternative, which gives it a distinct aroma. A few months ago I decided to try herbal coffee instead of regular coffee, so my particular batch used a coffee alternative, which is made from roasted carob, roasted barley, and roasted chicory and contains figs, almonds, and dates.

Here is a list of the ingredients and supplies you’ll need:

1 cup of Brown Sugar

¼ cup of Organic Virgin Coconut Oil

2 tbsp of Ground Herbal Coffee (or regular coffee)

Glass Jar (or another container)

Homemade Tag (for gift-giving)

Twine (or ribbon) to attach the tag

The first thing I did was to measure the brown sugar and place it in a mixing bowl. I then took a pestle to hammer out any clumps of brown sugar. I added the coconut oil and stirred it until all the sugar was moistened. Lastly, I added the coffee and mixed it in. Place the mixture in a jar. You have your body scrub! The coconut oil will settle some at the bottom of the jar, so it’s always a good idea to remix it or invert the jar for a while before each use.

The brown sugar and ground coffee helps exfoliate the skin while the coconut oil deliciously moisturizes it at the same time. For best results, shower first, then apply the scrub and rinse off. Use a clean spoon to scoop out the amount you’ll need to avoid bacterial contamination if you plan to use it on your lips.

I’m absolutely hooked on this coconut oil and I’m looking forward to making some baked goods using the coconut oil! It has an intoxicating fresh coconut smell that I haven’t noticed in other coconut oils.

photo(33)Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is produced by hand, using the wet-milling process of extracting the oil from fresh coconuts. This coconut oil is made on Mt. Banahaw and surrounding areas from organic coconuts. Coconuts are used fresh (within 24-48 hours of harvest) from small family farms on Mt. Banahaw and other rural places in Quezon Province, the coconut capital of the Philippines. Only the highest quality coconuts are handpicked from each harvest. The volcanic soil of Mt. Banahaw makes these organic coconuts some of the most nutritionally rich coconuts in the world!

Tropical Traditions is America’s source for coconut oil. Their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is hand crafted in small batches by family producers, and it is the highest quality coconut oil they offer. You can read more about how virgin coconut oil is different from other coconut oils on their website: What is Virgin Coconut Oil?

You can also watch the video they produced about Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil:

Tropical Traditions also carries other varieties of affordable high quality coconut oil. Visit their website to check on current sales, to learn about the many uses of coconut oil, and to read about all the advantages of buying coconut oil online. Since the FDA does not want us to discuss the health benefits of coconut oil on a page where it is being sold or given away, here is the best website to read about the health benefits of coconut oil.

ENTER TO WIN A 1 QUART JAR OF ORGANIC COCONUT OIL

You have an awesome opportunity to win a whopping 1 quart (32 oz.) jar of Organic Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions! Tropical Traditions will directly ship the winner the coconut oil at no charge. As a requirement to enter this giveaway, please subscribe to the Tropical Traditions email Sales Newsletter here and leave a comment on this post letting us know you subscribed. This giveaway is open to US & Canada and ends 3/26! Leave a separate comment on this post for EACH of the following entries.

  • Subscribe to TT Email Sales Newsletter (Required)
  • Follow Tropical Traditions on Twitter: @troptraditions & @ttspecialdeals
  • “Like” Tropical Traditions on Facebook
  • Follow Tropical Traditions on Pinterest
  • Follow Tropical Traditions on Google+
  • Share via Social Media

logo-small

Tropical Traditions has a ton of organic products to choose from! If you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

BVCNOcover

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

174 comments

  1. I have a hard time choosing between coconut and vanilla but when you added brown sugar! I subscribed to the newsletter and am posting on Face Book.

  2. Thank you for the generous giveaway, I have heard so many great things about coconut oil and its health benefits. I subscribed to Tropical Traditions newsletter.

  3. Hi, thanks for the great recipe! What size jar do you use? I can’t wait to try this! I already subscribe to TT via email.

  4. I “like” TT on Facebook! (Make that LOVE), Thanks for the giveaway and I will definitely be trying this recipe!

  5. I subscribed & liked on Facebook. I just ordered too-but had to pay for the book.
    I guess the link didn’t work for me. ):
    I really hope coconut oil is a big help for me!

  6. Wow,that scrub sounds so devine,I’d love to make this if I win the Coconut oil! :D I love body scrub,and they can be so expensive in the stores :( I’d love to make homemade,sounds so much better and without all the preservatives and stuff…I already recieve the newsletter and have followed TT on Pinterest and Facebook as well.I am just dying to try this oil for the first time,I am praying I win,thank u so much for this wonderful opportunity,have a beauitful week ahead :)~Tg

    1. Hi, T.G! Thanks so much for entering the giveaway! To increase your chances of winning, leave a separate comment letting me know you followed on Pinterest and a separate one for Facebook. Have a wonderful week yourself! :)

  7. I subscribed to their news letter and I liked them on facebook :) Tis a pretty cool contest, thanks for offering it!

  8. I’m following on Pinterest!
    I’m following on Google!
    worpress told me to “Slow down. I’m posting too fast” hehe it sees my excitement!!

    much <3 for you guys!

Leave a Reply

