Chicken Soup for the Soul: Inspiration for Writers

photo(46)I’m actually shocked I’ve never read a Chicken Soup for the Soul book until a few months ago! Their recent release was right up my alley and it came at the most opportune time. Chicken Soup for the Soul: Inspiration for Writers: 101 Motivational Stories for Writers—Budding or Bestselling—from Books to Blogs landed in my hands as I began to write my first book. It has encouraged, guided, and taught me, not to mention yanked tears from my eyes.

As a writer who’s never taken a writing course or attended a writing conference, the content of the stories and the different writing styles and voices were an invaluable tool. Written by a wide gamut of writers, from published to hopefuls, it’s a meaty read for insatiable readers. It makes a delightful gift for beginning writers.

The stories in Chicken Soup for the Soul: Inspiration for Writers help writers face their fears, overcome writer’s block, deal with rejection, manage their time and find inspiration.  It also stresses the significance of fellow writers, friends and family in the writing journey, and the role of mentors and writer’s groups.

The section that gripped my writer’s heart was how writing can impact others. For someone who hopes that my words will be seeds blooming life in others, these stories were encouraging as I embrace the exhilarating art of writing.

One of the stories I’m eager to highlight is that of my author-friend Amelia Rhodes. “The Surprise Party” was a tearjerker! In it, Amelia shares about the importance of her supportive friends and family as she was writing her first book, Isn’t it Time for a Coffee Break?  Her story reminded me to put things in perspective. While writing is a passion, it shouldn’t consume our life to the detriment of our relationships. Cultivating friendships/relationships keeps our life in optimal balance, allowing for a healthy writing life.  It’s quite simple. Living a life of love will give our words breath. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a review copy of the above mentioned book from Chicken Soup for the Soul. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One comment

Leave a Reply

