Book Review: Same Kind of Different As Me

Denver Moore is a homeless man who grew up as a modern-day slave in a plantation in Louisiana. Ron Hall is an international art dealer with preconceived notions about homeless people. Debbie Hall is the tenacious woman who brought these two men together. It is an almost unbelievably true story about the impact one life can have on another.

By telling their own story in this memoir, Moore and Hall share significant aspects of their lives, demonstrating a jarring contrast as they are juxtaposed chapter by chapter. Worthy of noting is Denver Moore’s authentic, engaging, and down-to-earth writing style and voice, reminiscent of the language of some of Flannery O’Connor’s characters.

What I found particularly interesting was the way Denver Moore taught Ron Hall nuggets of wisdom through their friendship. Societal expectations would place Hall as Moore’s benefactor, so to speak. Not in this story. God uses the despised of this world to teach the world His wisdom.

This book brings to the fore the ever present issue of homelessness plaguing our country and the many individual lives that are overlooked on a daily basis. As for me, it is a call to action as much as it is a story about friendship, faith and love. If you want to be inspired to live a life that matters, then pick this book up. It has already garnered a place as one of my favorites, not because of any literary laurels received, but simply due to the applause my spirit has given it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Book Review: Same Kind of Different As Me

  1. Thanks for sharing your insights about this book. I had read an article about the relationship between the two men and found it very intriguing. I love books that inspire me to want to be a better person and give a greater understanding about people I may not otherwise get to know. This will certainly go on my list of books I must read.

Leave a Reply

